Ant-Man Post Credits Scenes: Explanation and Speculation (Spoilers!)

Our thoughts on both Ant-Man post-credit scenes!

REVIEW: Ant-Man

The long-awaited movie is finally here, but is it worth watching?

WATCH: Suicide Squad - SDCC Trailer

The Suicide Squad trailer has been officially released, and you can watch it right here!

WATCH: Batman v Superman - SDCC Trailer

Watch the trailer that everyone is talking about, and find out our thoughts on the upcoming movie!

Thursday, 20 August 2015

TEN to Publish First Book

We'd like to take this moment to apologise to any followers for the lack of updates to our site recently, but rest assured it's for good reason. I'm David Craig writer for The Entertainment Network, and I'm excited to announce that we intend to publish our first book before the end of the year. It's hard to give concrete details, because as my Politics teacher once told me there are no certainties in life, but if all goes to plan our first book will be published no later than this October.

"If you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans." -- Woody Allen

10,000 words in, and still nowhere near close to finishing. All I can say is that the book is (unsurprisingly) about films. For further details keep your eyes peeled on TEN's Facebook page and Twitter account as more announcements are on the way.

-- David Craig
Founder of The Entertainment Network

Monday, 3 August 2015

Vacation Flops Hard, Mission: Impossible Wins Big | Box Office Report

On this week's Box Office Report, David discusses Ed Helms new Vacation film and just how badly it flopped! Also, Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation becomes a much-needed win for Tom Cruise, while Paper Towns, Terminator Genisys and Adam Sandler's Pixels continue to underwhelm.

Saturday, 1 August 2015

Jena Malone is Batgirl in Batman v Superman?!

The upcoming Batman v Superman film is already one of the most anticipated of next year, but the folks over at Latino Review may have just ramped up the hype even further. This is thanks to a rumour they published which claims that Jena Malone, whose character in Batman v Superman has not been officially revealed, will be portraying Barbara Gordon aka Batgirl.


The actress, best known for her role in the Hunger Games films, has previously been rumoured to be playing the Robin to Ben Affleck's Batman, however this rumour seems to suggest that isn't the case. The character of Barbara Gordon has a very rich history; she takes to the streets as Batgirl for many years, and then after she is tragically paralysed by the Joker in the Killing Joke storyline, takes on the mantle of Oracle (a genius computer hacker). This is a story arc that we could potentially see translated onto the big screen in DC's new cinematic universe.

------------------------------------------------------

What are your thoughts on this news? Let us know in the comments section below!

Friday, 31 July 2015

Channing Tatum Leaves Gambit?! Night Nurse in Doctor Strange?! Jurassic World 2 First Details

In the second episode of TEN's Weekly Round-Up, our top stories are: Jurassic World 2 has been officially announced with first details being whose on-board for the sequel! Also, a heck of a lot of comic-book movie news including Channing Tatum leaving Gambit, Chris Pine joining Wonder Woman and Night Nurse popping up in Doctor Strange?! Plus, this week's new releases Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation and Vacation starring Ed Helms! It's been a busy week!

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Chris Pine Officially Joins Wonder Woman

After being in negotiations for some time, the news broke earlier today that Chris Pine has officially joined the upcoming Wonder Woman solo movie in the role of Steve Trevor. Trevor has been a big part of many Wonder Woman stories since the Amazonian character debuted back in 1941, however recently the character was given a new lease of life in DC's rebooted New 52 comic-book universe.


In the New 52, Trevor was given a much more integral role than he'd seen in some time and the movie interpretation of the character will likely be based on this incarnation. This casting is fantastic news for Chris Pine, who is coming off a string of box office disappointments that includes Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, Horrible Bosses 2 and even Star Trek Into Darkness to some extent. A role in this high profile property should help Pine get his career back on track, while also acting as a safety net for him as the role of Steve Trevor will likely land him parts in multiple DC movies.

Wonder Woman is being directed by Patty Jenkins, who also directed the Oscar-winning film Monster starring Charlize Theron, and will be released in 2017.

Rumour: Channing Tatum to Leave Gambit?!

A shocking rumour surfaced earlier today as a report published on TheWrap suggested that Channing Tatum was planning to leave the upcoming Gambit movie that he has been attached to for many months now. While it should be stressed that this is a rumour and has not been confirmed by any credible source at the time of writing, if this is true it could be a damning loss for the upcoming spin-off film.


Gambit was planning to start shooting this October and so Tatum's potential drop-out is coming very late in the game. Additionally, if this rumour is to be believed it's a rather surprising decision for the actor to make after he has publicly displayed much enthusiasm for playing the character since being confirmed for the role. At the time of writing, neither 20th Century Fox, nor Tatum's representatives have given comment.

Tatum's casting received a mixed reaction from fans, with this reporter being undecided as to whether or not he's a good fit for the role. TEN will update this story as it develops.

Rosario Dawson Isn't Night Nurse, Character May Debut in Doctor Strange

At this year's Television Critics Association, Daredevil showrunner Steven DeKnight revealed some arguably quite disappointing news about Rosario Dawson's character in the popular Netflix series. While it had been assumed by many fans that Dawson was playing the Marvel Cinematic Universe interpretation of comic-book character Night Nurse, this appears not to be the case.

Indeed, DeKnight revealed that while Dawson's character Claire Temple was originally intended to be Night Nurse, this decision was blocked by Marvel's feature film branch who DeKnight explains, "had plans for her down the road." This has led many to speculate that the character may appear in the upcoming Doctor Strange film starring Benedict Cumberbatch, as Strange and Night Nurse have crossed paths on numerous occasions in the comics.


Meanwhile, it is no secret that Marvel Studios have been in talks with Rachel McAdams in recent weeks as they wish for her to take the female lead in Strange's cinematic debut. Could it be that McAdams will be playing the Night Nurse role originally intended for Rosario Dawson?

Personally, I find this news a little disappointing. In my opinion, Rosario Dawson is a superior actor to McAdams, and I would have loved to see her crossover into the Marvel movies. Not only would this lead to her character getting more exposure, but also it would be a clear sign of Marvel trying to integrate their Netflix series' into the wider universe they have created. With this reveal, it seems like quite the opposite has happened and that Dawson has effectively been sidelined.

Still, it is important to remember that this is all rumour and speculation at the moment, and there's still a good chance that Night Nurse won't appear in the upcoming Doctor Strange film. Plus, there is some good news for Daredevil fans as Rosario Dawson has been confirmed to be returning for Daredevil: Season 2, which will première sometime next year. Meanwhile, Doctor Strange will hit theatres on November 4th 2016; the film will be directed by Sinister's Scott Derrickson and stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Tilda Swinton.

Monday, 27 July 2015

Box Office Report: Pixels Bombs, Ant-Man Stands Tall

The long-awaited second season of The Entertainment Network's Box Office Report is finally here, and the season première can be watched right now! Embedded below is the latest episode which talks all about Ant-Man's second week at number one, Pixels being a box office flop, and Paper Towns and Terminator Genisys being big disappointments...


Saturday, 25 July 2015

Jurassic World 2 Announced: Pratt and Howard to Return

On Thursday, to the surprise of literally no one, Universal Studios announced that they were working on a sequel to this summer's mega-hit Jurassic World. The film as now made over $1.5 billion worldwide making it the third highest-grossing film of all time, recently surpassing 2012's The Avengers.


No plot details have been released as of yet, but both Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard have been confirmed as returning for the fifth instalment of the franchise. Colin Trevorrow, who directed Jurassic World has said on numerous occasions that he would not direct a sequel and so far he seems to be sticking to his word. However, Trevorrow will still be involved in the production of the new film, as he is currently penning the script with writing partner Derek Connolly.

The Jurassic World sequel has been slated for release on June 22nd 2018, meaning it could face opposition from similar monster flick Godzilla 2 which will be released two weeks before.

-----------------------------------------

What are your thoughts on Jurassic World and its upcoming sequel? Let us know in the comments section!

Friday, 24 July 2015

Weekly Round-Up: Ant-Man/Jurassic World Box Office, Pixels Sucks

This week, The Entertainment Network debuts its latest web-show: The Weekly Round-Up. This show, which will be produced every Friday will be a quick catch-up on the biggest news stories of the week in the world of entertainment.

This week, Ant-Man's reviews and box office performance are discussed. Also on this week's episode you can find the latest news about Jurassic World's record breaking box office run, and find out just how bad Adam Sandler's Pixels really is.

The video is embedded below if you want to give it a try (we hope you do!), also below is a transcription of the episode.

Let us know any feedback you have on our new show in the comments section!

TRANSCRIPTION:

What’s up folks, it’s me David and this is The Entertainment Network’s weekly round-up, a place for you to catch-up on the week in entertainment.

Let’s kick things off this week with Ant-Man, the Marvel film that was in development hell for years finally saw a release this week, and according to review aggregate site Metacritic has had generally positive reviews. Thank. Goodness.

The film had been the subject of much concern ever since fan-favourite director Edgar Wright – the man behind such films as Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World – left Marvel Studios and the Ant-Man project after working on it for eleven years blaming “differences in their vision of the film.” This led to many assuming that corporate interference was going to ruin Ant-Man in the same way it ruined Spider-Man 3, the Amazing Spider-Man 2, and many other projects that don’t feature Spider-Man in the title role.

Fortunately, this appears not to be the case; while the film hasn’t pleased everyone and certainly has its critics, the majority of fans seem to agree that it’s a solid super-hero movie, myself included. In fact, last week on The Entertainment Network’s website I wrote a review of Ant-Man and assigned it a score of 8.2/10. I’ll put a link to my review in the video description if you have any interest in reading what I have to say, which quite frankly you may well not and I don’t blame you for a second.

Despite a reasonable amount of good press, Ant-Man’s box office performance was considered sub-par for a Marvel Studios film. Opening with a domestic weekend haul of $58 million, Ant-Man was Marvel’s lowest opening since The Incredible Hulk came out in 2008. But, that’s not to say that the film flopped; in fact, with international totals factored in it’s already made much of its budget back and will almost definitely turn a profit – the real question is just how much profit the film will make, and will that be enough to warrant the sequel that many fans are already crying out for?

In-keeping with the film finance theme, earlier this week Jurassic World became the third highest grossing film of all time taking the place that had previously been held by the first Avengers film. Jurassic World has now made over $1.5 billion, and is outdone only by the two James Cameron juggernauts Titanic and Avatar. It seems very unlikely that Jurassic World will come close to dethroning either of Cameron’s epics, but in this case third place is still a huge achievement. Jurassic World has had a generally positive reception from fans, however it has polarised some people with the film’s critics pointing to its dodgy CGI, unbelievably illogical plot developments, and sexist undertones. However, judging from these numbers it appears the majority of fans were pleased by Jurassic World and I’d be very surprised if we don’t see a sequel fast-tracked very soon.

This continues what has been a fantastic year for Universal. This is the film studio’s second billion-dollar film of the year after Furious 7 crossed the billion-dollar mark back in April.

Hitting cinemas in the United States this week, we have Paper Towns – the adaptation of John Green’s young adult novel. The last John Green adaptation, 2014’s the Fault in Our Stars was a big box office performer, and the folks at Fox 2000 will be watching closely to see if Green’s fans can create another success as they just signed a “first look” deal with the high-profile author.

Also out this week is boxing feature Southpaw; hot off the critical acclaim received by his last film Nightcrawler, Jake Gyllenhaal takes the lead role here as a successful boxer struck by misfortune who makes it his mission to redeem himself in the eyes of his loved ones. Having received mixed reviews so far it’s tough to say whether Southpaw will please anyone but Gyllenhaal’s most-dedicated fans.

Finally, the only other wide release of the week is Adam Sandler’s Pixels. I foolishly believed the film could be a return to form for the actor, given that it’s coming from the director of the first two Harry Potter films, it stars some good actors in the form of Peter Dinklage, Brian Cox and Jane Krakowski, and the trailer generated some serious buzz earlier this year. Sadly, it seems I was wrong; the reviews that have come in so far have been almost universally negative, landing the film with a Rotten Tomatoes score of just 19% at the time of writing.


That’s your round-up for this week, thank you so much for watching. I hope you’ll come back next week for another round-up and also be sure to like the video, subscribe to this channel and let me know your thoughts on this week’s top stories in the comments section below!