Indie Comic Spotlight: Our Friend Satan

All the details on this 'funny as hell' graphic novel!

Rumour: Jena Malone is Batgirl?

Could the Hunger Games actress be playing Barbara Gordon?

Chris Pine Cast in 'Wonder Woman'

The actor is joining the film in the role of Steve Trevor!

Review: Ant-Man

Our thoughts on the latest instalment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe!

Saturday, 3 October 2015

The Complete Guide to 2016 Movies: Release Date Set for TEN Book

Twenty six thousand words later, The Entertainment Network's first book is finally on its way to release. Written by TEN founder David Craig, the book is currently expected to be made available on Amazon and other online retailers on the 26th October. Release in brick and mortar stores may follow. The official description of The Complete Guide to 2016 Movies can be found below:
The Complete Guide to 2016 Movies: Volume 1 is the ultimate resource for film fans. Within its pages are details on every major studio film hitting cinemas between January 2016 and June 2016, with speculation as to whether each movie should be on your radar or approached with caution. But that's not all: the guide also offers fascinating details on the production of these movies, and their likelihood of box office success. Laid out in chronological order of release, the guide will be your go-to source for information before heading to the cinema to see the latest features.
 The book has been a lot of work, but also a lot of fun to produce and we're hoping that people enjoy learning about the movies that 2016 has to offer. As the description reveals, volume one covers every major studio release hitting theaters between January 2016 and June 2016, with a second volume covering the movies heading to cinemas from July 2016 to December coming in the Spring.

The Complete Guide to 2016 Movies: Volume 1

Format: Paperback
Size: 5.25" x 8"
Pagecount: 104
Author: David Craig
Price: £5.99 (UK), 7.99 (EUR), $8.99 (USA)

Monday, 31 August 2015

Indie Comic Spotlight: Our Friend Satan

When I first heard about Our Friend Satan I was a little sceptical. The upcoming graphic novel, which follows a downtrodden Satan as he attempts to turn his life around by suing the Pope for defamation, seemed like a hard sell at first. After all, many creators have tried to put a new spin on the Devil and many have fallen short; however, this project currently being put together by a group of comic creators led by Dominik L. Marzec looks like it may well end up succeeding where so many others have failed. While the subject matter is potentially inflammatory - exploring a world where the Pope is something of an evil mastermind who has been spreading negative propaganda about Satan for many years - a quick glance at the seventeen page preview currently available on the book's website makes it abundantly clear that this story is being told in a wholly tongue-in-cheek manner. Indeed, Our Friend Satan looks like it could be a lot of fun, successfully adopting the same comedic techniques as recent mainstream comics such as Superior Foes of Spider-Man and Howard the Duck to great effect.

Additionally, judging from the aforementioned preview Marzec and co. could well succeed in making Satan - dare I say it - likeable?!  Reading the first few pages of this graphic novel left me fondly recalling a TV show I used to watch made by the CW, titled Reaper. For those unaware, the show followed the adventures of young slacker Sam Oliver who finds out on his 21st birthday that his parents sold his soul to the devil. Sam then is forced to become a reaper, tracking down escaped souls and taking them back to hell. What does all this have to do with Our Friend Satan? Well, in Reaper the Devil is played by Twin Peaks star Ray Wise in what is quite possibly the best performance of his career. As wrong as it seems to say this, Wise really does bring a certain charisma and humour to Satan which does make him strangely likeable. Reaper was sadly cancelled quite prematurely after just two short seasons, but I see remnants of that fantastic show in projects such as this one which makes me optimistic that this book could well end up being a gem.

It's clear that a great amount of effort and passion has been channelled into the creation of this graphic novel, which is evident in the fascinatingly distorted world that has been created wherein a sinister pope lives on a Vatican-themed space station, and the Anti-Christ simply wants to eat spaghetti and watch the Germany game in his slippers. The artwork is also very impressive; the detailed pages put together by Marzec and artists Lukas Lalko and Michael Murawski are a treat to look at, effectively creating comedic scenes whilst also being able to take a more sinister direction when the narrative requires it.

Our Friend Satan is at the time of writing reaching the end of it's Kickstarter campaign, and has fortunately reached its goal. However, with four days left to contribute you may still want to show your support for this project if it sounds like something you'd be interested in. The folks behind this book have a number of stretch goals that I'm sure they'd love to reach, including producing a hardcover edition and even starting work on a second and third instalment in Satan's story. There are also a number of awesome rewards for contributors such as T-Shirts, some (hilarious) posters, and even the chance to be drawn into the comic! The indie comics scene continues to grow from strength to strength, and it's thanks to original ideas such as Our Friend Satan that more and more people are choosing to take a chance on smaller books. We'll be watching this title very closely in the coming months, and if you like fun (if slightly insane) comics, then you should do too!
My favourite poster by the folks at Our Friend Satan

Thursday, 20 August 2015

TEN to Publish First Book

We'd like to take this moment to apologise to any followers for the lack of updates to our site recently, but rest assured it's for good reason. I'm David Craig writer for The Entertainment Network, and I'm excited to announce that we intend to publish our first book before the end of the year. It's hard to give concrete details, because as my Politics teacher once told me there are no certainties in life, but if all goes to plan our first book will be published no later than this October.

"If you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans." -- Woody Allen

10,000 words in, and still nowhere near close to finishing. All I can say is that the book is (unsurprisingly) about films. For further details keep your eyes peeled on TEN's Facebook page and Twitter account as more announcements are on the way.

-- David Craig
Founder of The Entertainment Network

Monday, 3 August 2015

Vacation Flops Hard, Mission: Impossible Wins Big | Box Office Report

On this week's Box Office Report, David discusses Ed Helms new Vacation film and just how badly it flopped! Also, Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation becomes a much-needed win for Tom Cruise, while Paper Towns, Terminator Genisys and Adam Sandler's Pixels continue to underwhelm.

Saturday, 1 August 2015

Jena Malone is Batgirl in Batman v Superman?!

The upcoming Batman v Superman film is already one of the most anticipated of next year, but the folks over at Latino Review may have just ramped up the hype even further. This is thanks to a rumour they published which claims that Jena Malone, whose character in Batman v Superman has not been officially revealed, will be portraying Barbara Gordon aka Batgirl.

The actress, best known for her role in the Hunger Games films, has previously been rumoured to be playing the Robin to Ben Affleck's Batman, however this rumour seems to suggest that isn't the case. The character of Barbara Gordon has a very rich history; she takes to the streets as Batgirl for many years, and then after she is tragically paralysed by the Joker in the Killing Joke storyline, takes on the mantle of Oracle (a genius computer hacker). This is a story arc that we could potentially see translated onto the big screen in DC's new cinematic universe.


What are your thoughts on this news? Let us know in the comments section below!

Friday, 31 July 2015

Channing Tatum Leaves Gambit?! Night Nurse in Doctor Strange?! Jurassic World 2 First Details

In the second episode of TEN's Weekly Round-Up, our top stories are: Jurassic World 2 has been officially announced with first details being whose on-board for the sequel! Also, a heck of a lot of comic-book movie news including Channing Tatum leaving Gambit, Chris Pine joining Wonder Woman and Night Nurse popping up in Doctor Strange?! Plus, this week's new releases Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation and Vacation starring Ed Helms! It's been a busy week!

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Chris Pine Officially Joins Wonder Woman

After being in negotiations for some time, the news broke earlier today that Chris Pine has officially joined the upcoming Wonder Woman solo movie in the role of Steve Trevor. Trevor has been a big part of many Wonder Woman stories since the Amazonian character debuted back in 1941, however recently the character was given a new lease of life in DC's rebooted New 52 comic-book universe.

In the New 52, Trevor was given a much more integral role than he'd seen in some time and the movie interpretation of the character will likely be based on this incarnation. This casting is fantastic news for Chris Pine, who is coming off a string of box office disappointments that includes Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, Horrible Bosses 2 and even Star Trek Into Darkness to some extent. A role in this high profile property should help Pine get his career back on track, while also acting as a safety net for him as the role of Steve Trevor will likely land him parts in multiple DC movies.

Wonder Woman is being directed by Patty Jenkins, who also directed the Oscar-winning film Monster starring Charlize Theron, and will be released in 2017.

Rumour: Channing Tatum to Leave Gambit?!

A shocking rumour surfaced earlier today as a report published on TheWrap suggested that Channing Tatum was planning to leave the upcoming Gambit movie that he has been attached to for many months now. While it should be stressed that this is a rumour and has not been confirmed by any credible source at the time of writing, if this is true it could be a damning loss for the upcoming spin-off film.

Gambit was planning to start shooting this October and so Tatum's potential drop-out is coming very late in the game. Additionally, if this rumour is to be believed it's a rather surprising decision for the actor to make after he has publicly displayed much enthusiasm for playing the character since being confirmed for the role. At the time of writing, neither 20th Century Fox, nor Tatum's representatives have given comment.

Tatum's casting received a mixed reaction from fans, with this reporter being undecided as to whether or not he's a good fit for the role. TEN will update this story as it develops.

Rosario Dawson Isn't Night Nurse, Character May Debut in Doctor Strange

At this year's Television Critics Association, Daredevil showrunner Steven DeKnight revealed some arguably quite disappointing news about Rosario Dawson's character in the popular Netflix series. While it had been assumed by many fans that Dawson was playing the Marvel Cinematic Universe interpretation of comic-book character Night Nurse, this appears not to be the case.

Indeed, DeKnight revealed that while Dawson's character Claire Temple was originally intended to be Night Nurse, this decision was blocked by Marvel's feature film branch who DeKnight explains, "had plans for her down the road." This has led many to speculate that the character may appear in the upcoming Doctor Strange film starring Benedict Cumberbatch, as Strange and Night Nurse have crossed paths on numerous occasions in the comics.

Meanwhile, it is no secret that Marvel Studios have been in talks with Rachel McAdams in recent weeks as they wish for her to take the female lead in Strange's cinematic debut. Could it be that McAdams will be playing the Night Nurse role originally intended for Rosario Dawson?

Personally, I find this news a little disappointing. In my opinion, Rosario Dawson is a superior actor to McAdams, and I would have loved to see her crossover into the Marvel movies. Not only would this lead to her character getting more exposure, but also it would be a clear sign of Marvel trying to integrate their Netflix series' into the wider universe they have created. With this reveal, it seems like quite the opposite has happened and that Dawson has effectively been sidelined.

Still, it is important to remember that this is all rumour and speculation at the moment, and there's still a good chance that Night Nurse won't appear in the upcoming Doctor Strange film. Plus, there is some good news for Daredevil fans as Rosario Dawson has been confirmed to be returning for Daredevil: Season 2, which will première sometime next year. Meanwhile, Doctor Strange will hit theatres on November 4th 2016; the film will be directed by Sinister's Scott Derrickson and stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Tilda Swinton.

Monday, 27 July 2015

Box Office Report: Pixels Bombs, Ant-Man Stands Tall

The long-awaited second season of The Entertainment Network's Box Office Report is finally here, and the season première can be watched right now! Embedded below is the latest episode which talks all about Ant-Man's second week at number one, Pixels being a box office flop, and Paper Towns and Terminator Genisys being big disappointments...